Florida Local News, Politics, Sports & Business

County political chief seats in play on each side of bay – Tampa Bay Occasions

Two candidates problem for Hillsborough GOP chair

A minimum of two candidates are campaigning to interchange embattled Hillsborough County Republican Celebration Chairman Jim Waurishuk.

In the meantime, each the Pinellas Republican and Democratic events will elect new chairpersons in December, however Hillsborough Democratic insiders say they see no indicators of a problem to celebration chief Ione Townsend.

Pinellas Republican Celebration vice chairman Adam Ross, who’s govt director within the workplace of sixth Circuit State Lawyer Bruce Bartlett, is working to interchange the outgoing chairman, Todd Jennings.

Ross, a veteran prosecutor, has served eight years within the Pinellas-Pasco sixth circuit.

Cathi Chamberlain has introduced her candidacy, and Ross mentioned one other celebration activist, Michael Surette, is working. Neither could possibly be reached for remark.

Ross mentioned Jennings is stepping down after serving 4 years within the publish, a convention for Pinellas GOP chairs.

Lucinda Johnston, Pinellas Democratic chairwoman, mentioned she is stepping down “to enter the grandparent enterprise.” She mentioned she’s not conscious of any candidates for the workplace and expects nominations from the ground within the election.

Candidates for Hillsborough GOP chair embody Bob Emerson of Apollo Seaside, a veteran of a couple of decade of exercise within the native GOP, and Dana Galen, a who has held two celebration committee chairmanships.

Waurishuk didn’t reply to inquiries as as to whether he’ll search re-election, however each challengers mentioned they intend to run regardless.

Emerson is president of the South Shore Republican membership and former celebration treasurer; Galen, of Wimauma, is chair of the celebration’s messaging and minority outreach committees.

Waurishuk has been in battle with state celebration Chairman Joe Gruters over admission of scores of latest precinct representatives to the native celebration. It’s anticipated lots of the new members would vote in opposition to reelecting Waurishuk.

Tampa Metropolis Council races have query marks

As candidates line up for the March 7 Tampa Metropolis Council elections, some robust contests are looming, together with some huge query marks.

Possibly the largest is the West Tampa-based District 6, the place Hoyt Prindle III has filed to run with backing from Democratic County Commissioner Pat Kemp.

That’s the identical district the place veteran council member Charlie Miranda, now term-limited in a citywide seat, could be anticipated to run if he chooses to hunt one other time period, his ninth since 1974.

As is his long-standing apply, Miranda received’t disclose his political plans till after the vacations.

Complicating the image is former council member and mayoral candidate Mike Suarez, who lives in District 6 and doesn’t rule out looking for to return to the Council. He mentioned he doesn’t but know what seat he would run for if he ran; his relationship with Miranda has been contentious up to now however is now “cordial,” Suarez mentioned.

Get insights into Florida politics

Get insights into Florida politics

Subscribe to our free Buzz e-newsletter

Political editor Emily L. Mahoney will ship you a rundown on native, state and nationwide politics protection each Thursday.

You’re all signed up!

Need extra of our free, weekly newsletters in your inbox? Let’s get began.

Explore all your options

In the meantime, one more candidate, Chase Harrison, has entered the crowded subject difficult incumbent Joseph Citro within the citywide District 1 seat. Already working are Alan Clendenin and Sonja Brookins, who filed in April however hasn’t but raised any marketing campaign cash.

In New Tampa-based District 7, incumbent Luis Viera has raised by far essentially the most cash of any candidate, $48,525, since submitting Aug. 5, and stays unopposed.

Former state Sen. Janet Cruz, who stunned political insiders instantly after dropping her Senate seat Nov. 8 by saying she’ll problem incumbent Lynn Hurtak within the citywide District 3 seat, has introduced an endorsement from the influential Tampa Police Benevolent Affiliation.

No candidate has filed in South Tampa-based District 4, regardless of hypothesis that allies of Mayor Jane Castor would encourage a challenger to incumbent Invoice Carlson, a vociferous Castor critic. Carlson says he intends to run however is “in no hurry to file.”

In the meantime, Castor hasn’t but filed for reelection, however associates say she is going to quickly. She informed the Tampa Bay Occasions in January that she was working.

Hillsborough NAACP election raises turmoil

Yvette Lewis, a persistent critic of Mayor Jane Castor, has been reelected president of the Hillsborough County NAACP after an election that induced controversy and allegations of vote suppression.

Lewis was opposed by Tarance D. Le’Noir, one in all a gaggle of dissident candidates that features long-time civic and Republican political activist Joe Robinson.

Robinson sought to run for 2nd vp however was suspended from membership, together with East Tampa political activist Michelle Patty. Each have been sharply important of the chapter’s management; nationwide NAACP leaders suspended them for the criticism, which the group thought of “inimical to the most effective pursuits of … the affiliation.”

In line with numerous accounts, police had been known as the evening of the election Nov. 15 to return to the location the place the net election was being originated after Robinson and others sought, however had been denied, entry into the constructing.

Lewis mentioned “from my understanding,” the opposition to her was inspired by allies of Castor — “I don’t know for positive and I don’t have any proof,” she added.

“That’s false,” replied Castor spokesman Adam Smith. “Jane Castor was not concerned in an NAACP election.”

However Robinson mentioned scores or a whole bunch of members had been unable to vote due to flawed procedures for offering ballots for the election, and mentioned the state of affairs is linked to issues with management of the nationwide NAACP.

“The mayor had nothing to do with it,” he mentioned, accusing Lewis’s administration of assorted sorts of misconduct.

Lewis received 190 to 68, and Daryl Hych and Karl Davis received for 1st and 2nd vp, unopposed.

Hart elected Black Caucus chair

State Rep. Dianne Hart, D-Tampa, has been elected 2022-24 chair of the Florida Legislative Black Caucus, giving town two Black ladies in legislative management positions.

Rep. Fentrice Driskell was beforehand chosen Home minority chief.

The Black Caucus will encompass 29 Black senators and Home members, principally Democrats.

Sen. Darryl Rouson, D-St. Petersburg, whose district consists of components of Tampa, might be vice-chair.

Comments are closed.